Congratulations to all the 2017 Media Awards Finalists

Entries closed on 2 August for the 2017 Amnesty International Australia Media Awards.

Thank you to all of the entrants in each of the six categories – Cartoon, Indigenous Issues Reporting, Photography, Print/Online/Multimedia, Radio, and Television. Our call for entries had a fantastic response and the judges have a tough job ahead of them.

Finalists were announced on 27 September, and winners will be announced at the awards ceremony in Sydney on 1 November.

The awards, now in their fourth year, recognise the excellent work of Australian journalists in uncovering human rights violations, holding abusers to account, and telling sometimes difficult stories in engaging ways.



The judges

A selection of esteemed Australian journalists are judging this year's awards. A panel of three will judge each of the six categories.

Entry criteria

Criteria for entry in the 2017 awards.

Judging process & guidelines

All entries will be assessed initially for eligibility by representatives of Amnesty International Australia.

Terms & Conditions

Media awards background

Amnesty International Australia's Media Awards started in 2014.